tawk.to is free live chat, paid for by add-ons.
Convot is a help desk for every app you run, free under $1k MRR.
Convot is a tawk.to alternative for small software teams that run more than one app and want a changelog, roadmap and status page beside their chat and help center. Convot is free under $1,000 MRR with 1 app and 3 seats, then $49 a month; the free plan shows a Powered by Convot badge and does not include Cove AI. As of 1 October 2026, tawk.to's chat, ticketing and knowledge base are free with no stated agent limit; it charges $29 a month to remove its branding and lists its AI agents as free forever. tawk.to is the better fit if you want free chat for a large team at any revenue.
Free under $1k MRR · Live in minutes · No credit card
Is Convot a good tawk.to alternative?
Choose Convot over tawk.to if you run more than one app and want a changelog, roadmap and status page for each app beside chat and a help center, in one inbox. Convot is free under $1,000 MRR with 1 app and 3 seats, then $49 a month. tawk.to is the better choice if you want free chat, ticketing, a knowledge base and AI agents for a large team with no stated agent limit, at any revenue, and can live with its branding or pay $29 a month to remove it.
tawk.to prices and plans last checked on tawk.to's own pricing page, by Tarang Agarwal, Convot founder.
When should you use each?
tawk.to is a good fit when…
- You want free live chat, ticketing and a hosted knowledge base, with no stated agent limit and no revenue condition
- You want AI agents without a per-resolution fee: tawk.to lists up to 10 per account as free forever
- You want Messenger, SMS and Telegram in the same dashboard (listed by tawk.to as beta)
- You would rather hire chat agents at $1 an hour than staff chat yourself
Convot wins when…
- You run more than one app and want each app's widget, help center and settings in one inbox, labeled by app
- You want a changelog, a roadmap customers vote on and a status page for each app, which tawk.to does not list
- You want live translation in 60+ languages in both directions
- You build Shopify apps and want the merchant's plan, MRR and LTV beside the chat
- You want help desk features beyond chat on stepped pricing: $49 a month for 1 app and 3 seats, up to $299 for unlimited apps and 20 seats
Convot vs tawk.to: what is different?
A direct comparison across the capabilities small teams running more than one app care about most.
| Capability | Convot | tawk.to |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Free under $1k MRR (1 app, 3 seats), then from $49 a month | Free; $29 a month to remove branding |
| Agents on the free plan | 3 seats | No stated limit |
| Live chat widget | ✓ | ✓ |
| Shared inbox / tickets | ✓ | Free ticketing |
| Help center / knowledge base | One per app | Free hosted knowledge base |
| Several apps or sites | Widget, help center and settings per app | Several properties under one login |
| AI agent | Cove AI, $0.20 per resolved conversation (paid plans) | Listed as free forever, up to 10 agents; AI Assist from $29 a month. Free AI tier described as for limited chat volume, limit not stated |
| Messenger, SMS, Telegram | Not offered; live chat and email | Messaging listed in beta |
| Hired human agents | No | $1 an hour |
| Changelog, roadmap with voting, status page | ✓ Built-in | Not listed by tawk.to |
| Shopify merchant revenue beside the chat (for Shopify apps) | Merchant plan, MRR, LTV | Not listed by tawk.to |
✓ = available, Partial = limited or plan-gated, No = not offered, or not listed by tawk.to. tawk.to has no plan table; details from tawk.to/why-free (where tawk.to/pricing redirects) and tawk.to/products/automation, checked 1 October 2026.
How much does tawk.to cost?
As of 1 October 2026, tawk.to's core product costs $0, with no stated limit on agents or chats, and tawk.to earns from add-ons. tawk.to has no pricing page; tawk.to/pricing redirects to a founder letter, which lists the prices below.
| What you pay for | Price | What it covers |
|---|---|---|
| Live chat, ticketing, knowledge base, contacts | $0 | No stated agent limit; shows Powered by tawk.to branding |
| Branding removal | $29 a month | Removes the Powered by tawk.to branding |
| AI agents | $0, or AI Assist from $29 a month | Up to 10 agents listed as free forever; free AI tier for limited chat volume, limit not stated |
| Hired chat agents | $1 an hour | Trained human agents answer chats for you |
| Virtual assistants | From $7 an hour | Dedicated assistants for admin and other work |
From tawk.to/why-free and tawk.to/products/automation, checked 1 October 2026. For comparison, Convot is free under $1,000 MRR (1 app, 3 seats, Powered by Convot badge, no Cove AI), then $49 a month for 1 app and 3 seats.
What changes when you move to Convot
More than chat
tawk.to covers chat, ticketing, a knowledge base and contacts. Convot adds a changelog, a roadmap customers vote on and a status page for each app, alongside chat and the help center.
Every app in one inbox
tawk.to manages several properties under one login. Convot gives each app its own widget, help center and settings, and labels every conversation by app in one shared inbox.
Live translation
Convot translates conversations live in 60+ languages, in both directions, so you reply in yours and the customer reads theirs.
Free while you are small
Convot is free under $1,000 MRR with 1 app and 3 seats, with a Powered by Convot badge and no Cove AI. tawk.to is free at any size, with no stated agent limit, and charges $29 a month to remove its branding.
Convot as a tawk.to alternative
How much does Convot cost compared to tawk.to?
tawk.to has no pricing page; tawk.to/pricing redirects to a founder letter at tawk.to/why-free. Per that letter, the core product is free, with no stated limit on agents or chats. It charges $29 a month to remove the Powered by tawk.to branding, $1 an hour for hired chat agents, and lists AI Assist from $29 a month. Its automation page lists AI agents as free forever, while its letter describes the free AI plan as for limited chat volume, with no limit stated. Convot is free under $1,000 MRR with 1 app and 3 seats, then $49 a month for 1 app and 3 seats, up to $299 for unlimited apps and 20 seats; Cove AI is $0.20 per resolved conversation in which it replied, on paid plans.
Can I migrate from tawk.to to Convot?
Convot has no tawk.to importer. Talk to Convot before you switch to see what is possible; migration details are at convot.io/migrate. For reference, Crisp imports in one click, and Convot runs free migrations from Intercom, Zendesk and Freshdesk.
What does Convot do that tawk.to doesn't?
Convot gives every app its own widget, help center, changelog, roadmap with voting and status page, all in one inbox, and translates conversations live in 60+ languages. For Shopify apps it shows each merchant's plan, MRR and LTV beside the chat. tawk.to is free chat, ticketing and a knowledge base with no stated agent limit, plus Messenger, SMS and Telegram messaging (listed as beta) and hired agents at $1 an hour. Convot offers neither the extra channels nor hired agents.
Is tawk.to really free?
Yes for the core product. As of 1 October 2026, tawk.to says its product is free for life if you keep the Powered by tawk.to branding. Live chat, ticketing, a hosted knowledge base and contacts are listed as free, with no stated agent limit. It makes money from add-ons: $29 a month to remove the Powered by tawk.to branding, AI Assist from $29 a month (its letter calls the forever-free AI plan one for sites with limited chat volume, without stating the limit), and hired chat agents at $1 an hour.
Does tawk.to have a free AI agent?
tawk.to's AI agents cost $0 per resolution: its automation page lists them as free forever, up to 10 per account, with no per-resolution fee, across live chat, Messenger, SMS, Telegram and email. Its pricing letter also sells AI Assist from $29 a month and describes its free AI plan as for sites with limited chat volume, without stating the limit. Convot's Cove AI is $0.20 per resolved conversation in which it replied, on paid plans only.
Why switch from tawk.to to Convot?
Teams switch when they need more than chat: Convot gives each app a help center, a public changelog, a roadmap customers vote on and a status page, in one inbox labeled by app, with live translation in 60+ languages. Convot is free under $1,000 MRR, then $49 a month for 1 app and 3 seats. If free chat for a large team is all you need, tawk.to is cheaper.
What is the best tawk.to alternative for SaaS?
For a SaaS or app team, Convot is a tawk.to alternative that pairs chat and a help center with a changelog, roadmap and status page for each app, free under $1,000 MRR and from $49 a month after. tawk.to stays the better pick for free chat with no stated agent limit.
Every app you run, one help desk.
Chat, inbox, help center and AI for all your apps on one flat bill. Free under $1k MRR, no credit card required.